Cussing and kids

At the recent Skepticon event last month, my wife and I attended one of the smaller workshops. I can’t exactly remember the name of the workshop, but I believe it was called (Cursing Secularly).

We walked into the room which was pretty packed with about 50 people. We stood in the back and listened to the already heated conversation taking place. The people involved were basically discussing if it was ok to cuss whenever and wherever we want as adults. One guy was on the side that we as adults should be able to say what we want, no matter the setting. Others preferred to let the company we may be around dictate the appropriateness of the words to come from our mouths.

It seemed, at least from the people who were actually speaking out in the workshop that gatherings like free thought conventions were fair game to say what ever you want. Free speech and free thought is after all what events like Skepticon is all about.

Though my wife and I agree that free speech allows us to say the things we want, we also feel we should speak in a responsible manner, depending on who else is around. Especially if some are children.

After the workshop my wife and I then duscussed wether or not we would feel comortable bringing our own kids to events like Skepticon.

For the most part we would feel ok with them coming. It would be great to expose them to other freethinkers other than ourselves. However, we did hear the occasional F bomb and sexual innuendos during the conference and have reservations bringing our kids around that.

I mean, I do let out the occasional curses myself. But never around my kids. I’m probably like a lot of parents in this regard.

So I guess I’m in agreement that adults should be able to say what they want, when they want. But at what expense when more parents might bring the future freethinkers to conventions. I would just ask the cursers in the crowd to use discretion and be mature about it.

2 thoughts on “Cussing and kids

  1. Let me get this right, you will deceive your children so everyone else should too?

Leave a Reply

