Secular Parenting

I’ve been in the Navy Reserves for 7 years now. I am a Seabee and have deployed once to Iraq which I am quite proud of. I am glad to have had the opportunity to serve in that capacity at least once in my life. No matter the different political outlook we all have. The things I did over there not only made our service members lives better but also local Iraqis.

Well, tonight I got some tragic news of one of the guys that I have served with. I learned that his daughter committed suicide at 18 years old. I hate to see one of my buddies go through such a thing. I can’t imagine. I can’t imagine losing one of my own children who are still very very young to such a thing. Especially over mothers day weekend. That shit sucks.  I feel so bad for their family.

Today I watched my oldest son ride his bike most of the day, even in the rain. Yesterday, on mothers day, was the first day that he rode his bike for the first time without training wheels. It is so awesome to see your own kids take next steps in life. In any way imaginable. Be it sports, education, learning mannerisms, etc. It is great to see them grow and learn. We all want the best for our children. We want them to grow to be successful in whatever area they chose to go in.

This weekend we had the in-laws over. Over our mothers day lunch conversation, they non-chelantly offered to keep our kids for a week in June. At first I was delighted as my wife and I might have some time together, but the way they brought it up made me suspicious. Sure enough, the motive came forth in the next sentence. They wanted to take the kids to Vacation Bible School. My thoughts immediately were disappointment and I wanted to say no. No way did I want my kids to be exposed and indoctrinated for a week of Jesus stuff. I figured my wife and I would talk about it later.

We did talk about it after they left and agreed we did not want our kids to be trapped for hours over a week being taught non-sense and lies. Her parents were saddened and disappointed of course. Our oldest son doesn’t even like going to church with them once a month, much less a whole week of that BS. Our younger daughter doesn’t know any better, but I just wouldn’t feel right exposing her to a week of stories and doctrines that aren’t true. The objective of these schools is to get the kids while their young. To get them to believe their myths before the are able to think and decide for themselves what they believe or don’t. I would feel horrible allowing my kids to be subjected to that kind of brainwashing.

I’m not sure how all this ties into the first part of this post other than I just want the best for my children. I want them to learn for themselves what is truth and with my guidance (I am their parent after all) what is best for them. I guess I just think about being a parent in general. I do my best every day. I can’t imagine losing one of mine to such tragedy. And I know what a tragedy it is to try to tell them what to think as opposed to how to think. And that is exactly what these “Vacation Bible Schools” do. No thanks.

Leave a Reply

